Hello I’m Open. Going from mine to yours.

So for 3 almost 4 years I have been walking around with an idea in my head to open a hostel. Quit my full time job to go for it. Worked my … off to be able to pay for it, pitched my … off to find partners backing up my idea.

 Image

In that time I had a lot of thoughts, ideas, mega long to-do lists running through my head. Trying to explain to friends and family what I was working on. I guess that was one thing I am not so good at. From the day I opened till today as people still walk in daily to come take a look, people are surprised. Surprised on how big the whole project actually is, surprised how I managed to get it all together, surprised how unique the hostel turned up to be……well what do you think I was doing all that time?J

 

June 2012 Stadsherstel Amsterdam, my partner in crime, started remodeling the 4 buildings Hello I’m Local is located in. For 23 years these buildings had been empty, waiting to be brought back to beauty and shared with the world. Of course all kinds of things went bad, thank god for giving me a dose of flexibility and endurance. Normally building projects are always delayed. Well guess what, mine finished early. I was still working full time at a Strategy Consultant on a contracting project with no option to stop before the committed end date. I had everyone lined up for a couple weeks later; the guys to lay the floors, install the kitchen, build the bar, website up and running, beds, curtains and the list goes on… I had one end goal April 25th at 10 a.m. That was the due date, the date that the mayor of Haarlem was coming to officially open Hello I’m Local.

 

Now I start writing about this period I realize I can probably write a whole book about it. I will leave that for later…

 

From March 13th till April 25th I have no recollection what I actually did day by day. It’s a blur. Working 24×7 with the help of my dear family, my manager, his family, the occasional friends popping by, diners together, way too many beers. We were like a big family together in a very big house, our house, our space, our project, all working on my ideas, my dreams, my to-do lists, my wish to take on this crazy project.

 

As it all started to fall in place, for the first time I could actually show people what was in my head, what I was trying to explain for years. (Now I have a greater understanding for people with a creative career like my loved one. Always creating in their thoughts, trying to explain, but we humans just can’t totally grasp it until we see the finished product.)

 

April 25th comes …..

 

Now what happened then was something I did not see coming…..I received guests….yes, I received guests. Now you might think of course, it’s a place to stay, that’s your core business, for sure you will receive guests. But that is not what I mean. What I mean is that I was surprised by the feeling having guests gave me, I didn’t like it. They felt like intruders, coming into my private space, my space, my own 3 year project that was safely locked up in my head. People were now just coming in, disturbing my peace of mind, all having an opinion. One of the strangest realization moments in my life! Working so hard and so long for something and then actually disliking it.

 

Fortunately that lasted a day. As my guests started coming in, I talked with them, drank (yet another) beer with them I was back to where my idea once started. Opening a place where people from all over the world, all walks of life come, enjoying themselves, proving them with a place to just ‘be’. It soon turned into a holiday for myself. Like I was also on an adventure with my guests, only I had to get up at 7.45 in the morning to make breakfast for them.

 

Realizing going to bed every night at 4, getting up at 7.45 and working all hours in between is not a sustainable venture, my holiday turned into my work. Mine turned into yours. My home turned into my business and I am loving it!

 

I’m grateful for every person that steps foot into my business. Each and every one of you brings a story, a vibe and a new memory to my life. It’s no longer just a random thought in my head. It’s real, it’s open and the doors are open for you here in Haarlem!

Leave a comment